Products By Alphabet

Ernst Langhout - Parties, Battles & Tragedies

Ernst Langhout - Parties, Battles & Tragedies

Model: CD
Beschikbaarheid: OP VOORRAAD
Prijs: € 9,50 (EUR)
   - of toevoegen aan -   

CD: UPCD 98339
LABEL: Universe

01. Black Jack Davey
02. Into The Rain
03. Follow Me Up To Carlow
04. Muirsheen Dirkin
05. Dancing Dervish
06. The Blacksmith
07. Scotland The Brave
08. Tramps And Hawkers
09. Cemetary Of My Senses
10. The British Army
11. What Goes Up
12. Raggle Taggle Gypsies

Ernst Langhout's collaboration with the Hones is something else. Here he plays a stubborn mix of folk, rock and worldmusic. Plenty originals and some interpretations of mostly Irish folktraditionals and covers of Bob Dylan, Neil Young and Patti Smith. This music has a lot of spirit so the label of open sandals and woolly socks music really is not necessary. No, Langhout proves that folkmusic still can be exciting as well. "Black Jack Davey" is an Irish traditional and is played with a lot of fire here with the harmonica taking care of the tin whistle parts and a cutting fuzzguitar."Follow Me Up To Carlow" is also an Irish traditional and sounds like a stirring battlesong with its tin whistle and fiddle."The Blacksmith" is an original and is a heavy rocking swinging folksong while "Cemetary Of My Senses" is a mix of countryrock and folk with a heavy rocking sound."What Goes Up" is a merry folkrock/hillbilly song. "Scotland The Brave" is a Scottish traditional in which the harmonica replaces the bagpipes. A very unusual cover with fat folkrock and merry country influences. You might call it folk music with a modern touch. People who love the Waterboys albums "Fisherman's Blues" and "Room To Roam" should give this one a listen.


Uw naam:

Uw beoordeling: Note: HTML-code wordt niet vertaald!

Oordeel: Slecht            Goed

Voer onderstaande code in: